Nevada Labor Laws Breaks
Quick Guide to NV Labor Laws on Breaks
Nevada Labor Laws: Breaks
Nevada labor law on breaks gives specific rights to the employee for specified durations of breaks unless workers are in a certain profession. Nevada labor laws on breaks are some of the only state laws in the nation that allow breaks, and some of these NV labor laws on breaks are discussed throughout this article.
NRS 608.019 Nevada Labor Law on Breaks (Meals and Rest Periods)
This Nevada labor law for breaks states that an employer cannot employ a worker for a continuous period of 8 hours without supplying the employee with a meal period of at least one-half hour. Rest periods are also permitted under Nevada labor laws on breaks.
According to subsection 2, employers must abide by NV labor laws for breaks and rest period and give an employee a rest period of 10 minutes for every 4 hours worked. These rest periods count as hours worked under NV labor laws on breaks; however, an employer does not need to give a rest period under this Nevada labor law on breaks if the employee works less than 3 and one-half hours.
There are other sections under these Nevada labor laws for breaks, and certain employees are exempt from breaks. For example, if only one person is employed at a particular place of employment, NV labor laws on breaks do not state the employee needs a rest period or meal break.
Nevada Labor Law on Breaks for Expressing Breast Milk
There is no specific Nevada labor law on breaks for breastfeeding or pumping, but mothers are entitled to rest periods under federal law. Additionally, even though there are no Nevada labor laws for breaks and breastfeeding, and analysis of state law allows the breastfeeding and breaks.
Since rest periods are required under Nevada labor laws for breaks, mothers also allowed to express breast milk because of NRS 201.232(h)(2), which states: “A mother may breast feed her child in any public or private location where the mother is otherwise authorized to be…”
There are certain exemptions to this law, but an employer almost always has to provide the mother with a break in a private, clean location under NV labor laws on breaks.
NV Labor Laws: Breaks for Minors
Employment of minors and Nevada labor law on breaks for the minors is described in NRS 609.240-260. According to NV labor laws for breaks under 609.240, a child under the age of 16 cannot work “at any gainful occupation, other than domestic service, employment as a performer in the production of a motion picture or work on a farm, more than 48 hours in any 1 week, or more than 8 hours in any 1 day.”
Child labor laws and Nevada labor law on breaks apply to child under the age of 14 apply as well. If a child is under the age of 14, Nevada labor law on breaks states the child needs permission from legal guardians, and except in particular circumstances, can never work while school is in session.
If any of the Nevada labor laws on breaks are violated in this article, an employer can face serious penalties and fines. For more information on NV labor laws in breaks.