Quick Guide to Iowa Overtime Laws
Iowa Overtime Laws
Iowa overtime law does not state that an employer needs to give an employee overtime pay, but all employers in the state of Iowa follow the Fair Labor Standards Act. Under the Fair Labor Standards Act, an employee must be paid at least one and one-half (1 ½) times the regular rate after working 40 hours in a given workweek.
What is the minimum overtime wage according to IA overtime laws?
According to Iowa overtime law under the FLSA on minimum wage, the current overtime minimum wage is $10.90 after rounded to the lowest nickel. If you have worked more than 40 hours a week, unless you’re in a certain profession, your employer is required to pay you overtime rates according to Iowa overtime laws.
If you believe your overtime rates under Iowa overtime laws have been violated, you can file a claim with the Iowa Division of Labor Services. If you want to file a claim for wages and violations of IA overtime law, you’ll have to follow a large number of steps provided by the DLS.
You can either fill out an application by downloading the form off of the website provided above, or you can call the following number for more assistance: (515) 242-5869.
Iowa Overtime Law and Compensatory Time
Iowa overtime law under the administrative code 53.11(5) and the FLSA states that a public employee may be paid overtime earned as compensatory time (or time off instead of cash). Unless the conditions for compensatory time are stated in collective bargaining agreements, compensatory time under Iowa overtime laws and the FLSA is subject to the following conditions:
• the employee must decide on overtime or compensatory time unless the employer requires that the overtime be paid in cash
• An employee may accrue up to 80 hours of compensatory time before it must be paid to the employee under Iowa overtime laws
• The compensatory time must be paid to the employee at any time or may be carried over to the next year
• The compensatory time must be paid to the employee when the employee separates, transfers, or starts a different job within the same company
Does holiday pay automatically become overtime pay under IA overtime laws?
An employer does not have to observe a holiday under IA overtime laws, but many employers still provide holiday pay. However, if the employer provides holiday pay, the pay does not qualify as overtime pay according to Iowa overtime laws. For example, if a person receives 8 hours of holiday pay on top of 40 hours worked in a week, the person will only be paid 48 regular hours according to IA overtime laws.
Is a part-time employee paid overtime under Iowa Overtime Law and the FLSA?
Iowa overtime laws in accordance with the FLSA apply to all regular part-time and full-time employees who work more than 40 hours a workweek. These IA overtime laws are different for agricultural workers on a family farm, and even migrant workers in some cases.