Quick Guide to Breaks and Labor Law in Connecticut
Connecticut Labor Laws: Breaks
Connecticut labor law for breaks specifically gives the employee a right to a lunch period. According to Section 31-51ii, “No person shall be required to work for seven and one-half or more consecutive hours without a period of at least thirty consecutive minutes for a meal. Such a period shall be given at some time after the first two hours of work and before the last two hours.”
According to this Connecticut labor law on breaks, professional employees certified by the State Board of Education and employed by a local or regional board of education are exempt from the entire statute. Also, there are exemptions provided by section (c) of this statute as well. The normal Connecticut labor laws for breaks do not apply if:
1. requiring such compliance would adversely affect public safety
2. the position may only be performed by one employee
3. the employer employs less than five people on a shift with a single place of business
4. the “continuous nature” of the job, such as chemical production or research experiments, requires the employee to work continuously (these employees will be compensated for break and meal periods according to Connecticut labor law on breaks)
More important Connecticut labor law for breaks are listed below:
Section 31-40w Breastfeeding in the workplace
This law states that a woman may pump breast milk at her discretion during a meal or break period. The Connecticut labor law on breaks also specifies responsibilities for the employer in such a situation:
1. The employer must make reasonable efforts to provide a private and clean work area for the woman to breastfeed. This location cannot be a bathroom stall.
2. The employer cannot discriminate against a woman who needs to breastfeed during a lunch break or rest period.
Section 31-12 Hours of labor of minor, elderly and handicapped persons in manufacturing or mechanical establishments
These Connecticut labor laws on break state that no one listed below can work more than 9 hours a day or 48 hours a workweek in a factory-type job:
• people below the age of 18 who are not enrolled and have not graduated from a secondary education institution
• people 65 years or older without their own consent
• handicapped people unless a physician has determined the extended hours will not be dangerous to their health
• disabled veterans without their consent and a physician’s consent
There are numerous other Connecticut labor laws on breaks under the following link:
Connecticut Labor Law: Breaks for Vacation and Holidays
According to Connecticut Labor Laws on breaks, an employer does not have to provide time off for vacation or holidays. However, if holidays are recognized within a contract, the employer must provide the employee with those breaks according to Connecticut labor law on breaks.
For more valuable information apart from the Connecticut Statutes, visit the following website under the CT Department of Labor: