Connecticut Overtime Laws

Connecticut Overtime Laws

Share
Connecticut Overtime Laws

 

Quick Guide to Connecticut Overtime

Connecticut Overtime Laws

Connecticut overtime laws are some of the most detailed overtime statutes in all of the United States.  For the sake of convenience, this article will discuss Sections 31-76(b), 31-76(c), and Section 31-76i of the state’s statutes on Connecticut overtime law.  This article will also discuss filing a wage claim if you believe an employer has violated Connecticut overtime law, and this section is located at the end of the article.  

Specific Connecticut Overtime Laws

Some important sections of Connecticut overtime law are discussed below: 

Section 31-76b Overtime pay: Definitions

This section provides definitions for “regular pay” where overtime pay is not necessarily required in the state of CT.  Regular rates include any of the following categories: 

• sums paid as gifts such as Christmas gifts, a reward for service, or amounts not measured by hours worked

• payments made for occasional periods when no work is done such as vacation, holidays, illnesses, failure for the employer to provide enough work, traveling expenses, and more

• payments made by a trustee to a third party for old-age, retirement, or insurance

• extra compensation paid on Saturdays and Sundays where no more than 40 hours have been worked in the total week

Section 31-76c Length of workweek 

This Connecticut overtime law provides the general overtime rule for the state.  The law states the following: 

“No employer, except as otherwise provided herein, shall employ any of his employees for a workweek longer than forty hours, unless such employee receives remuneration for his employment in excess of the hours above specified at a rate not less than one and one-half times the regular rate at which he [or she] is employed.”

Therefore, according to Connecticut overtime laws, the minimum overtime wage in the state is $12.38.  Additionally, an employer can make an employee work mandatory overtime as long as they pay the employee the minimum overtime rate under Connecticut overtime law.  

Section 31.76i Exceptions

These Connecticut overtime laws specify which professions may not receive overtime rates unless specified by an employer.  The exceptions under this Connecticut overtime law include the following: 

• any driver or helper who have mandated maximum hours they’re allowed to work

• any employed seaman 

• any announcer, news editor or chief engineer

• any executive or similar professional

• any outside salesman 

• any inside salesmen who receive the majority of their commission from sales 

• any taxi driver 

• any delivery person associated with milk or baked goods

• any automobile salesman

• anyone employed in agriculture 

• permanent paid employees in the police and firefighting forces

Filing a Wage Claim for Violation of Connecticut Overtime Law

If you believe your employer has violated Connecticut overtime laws, you’ll have to file a wage complaint with the Wage and Workplace Standards Division.  In order to obtain the proper form for the wage claim against unlawful minimum wages in Connecticut, you can visit the following website:  

Make sure you follow all instructions on this website as well.  These instructions are extremely important, and you can call the Wage and Workplace Standards Division at (860) 263-6790 if you need help completing the forms.  

 

Comments

comments

Share

Related Articles


Popular Posts

No posts where found

Read previous post:
Oklahoma Overtime Laws

Close