Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission


Overview of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

In 2011, individuals filed 99,947 through the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC).  The Commission enforces federal laws that restrict discrimination of a job applicant based on their race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, or genetic information.  The EEOC also hears cases when a person was discriminated against because they complained about discrimination, filed charges, or participated in an investigation or lawsuit pertaining to discrimination. 

EEOC laws cover employers with 15 or more employees or 20 or more employees in age discrimination cases.  These laws cover situations involving hiring, termination, promotions, harassment, wages, benefits, and training.  The EEOC investigates cases and files lawsuits, but they don’t file lawsuits in all cases. 

Laws Enforced by the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

The following laws are enforced by the EEOC:

·         Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

·         The Pregnancy Discrimination Act

·         The Equal Pay Act of 1963 (EPA)

·         The Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA)

·         Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA)

·         Sections 102 and 103 of the Civil Rights Act of 1991

·         Section 501 and 505 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973

·         The Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008 (GINA)

Laws Not Enforced by the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

The following laws are not enforced by the EEOC:

·         The Civil Service Reform Act of 1978 (CSRA)

·         The Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986 (IRCA)

·         Executive Order 11246

·         Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

·         Title II or Title III of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

·         The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)

·         The Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (OSHA)

·         Section 503, 504, and 508 of the Rehabilitation Act

·         The Social Security Act

·         The Fair Labor Standards Act

·         National Labor Relations Act

·         Section 1981 of the Civil Rights Act of 1866

·         Workers’ Compensation Laws

·         Title I of the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act

How to File a Charge with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

If you’re a federal employee, your complaint process is different.  You can review the process on the EEOC’s website.

You should file the complaint with the closest EEOC office to where you live.  You need to make sure you file in time.  The deadline is 180 days, and it is extended to 300 days if a state or local law is enforced and prohibits the type of discrimination you’re complaining about. 

You can file the complaint with your local EEOC or your local Fair Employment Practices Agency (FEPA).  The EEOC some FEPAs have agreements to dually file the complaint to protect the person’s rights under federal and state/local law. 

You can file in person, by phone, online, or by mail.  If you file by mail, include the following:

·         your name, address and telephone number

·         the name, address, and telephone number of the employer you’re filing the complaint against

·         the number of employees at the employer

·         a short description of the discrimination that occurred

·         when the discrimination took place

·         the specific reason you were discriminated against (age, race, sex, etc)

·         signature

Source: https://www.eeoc.gov/





Related Articles

Popular Posts

No posts where found

Read previous post:
Oklahoma Overtime Laws