Utah Overtime Laws

Utah Overtime Laws

Share
Utah Overtime Laws

 

Quick Guide to Utah Overtime Laws 

Utah Overtime Law

Utah overtime laws are provided under the state’s legislature, and most employees are covered by these UT overtime laws except for certain exceptions. 

Under §34-30-8 of the state’s code on Utah overtime law, an employee must work at least 40 hours before receiving one and one-half (1 ½) times the hourly wage.  Other sections of the UT overtime law are discussed throughout this article as well. 

You will find information in this article about Utah overtime law on overtime minimum wage, wage claims for violations of UT overtime laws, other state laws, and more.  

What is the minimum overtime wage under Utah overtime laws?

According to Utah overtime law on minimum wage, the current overtime minimum wage is $10.90 after rounded to the lowest nickel.  If you have worked more than 40 hours a week, unless you’re in a certain profession, your employer is required to pay you overtime rates according to Utah overtime laws.  

If you believe your employer has violated UT overtime laws, you will find information about filing a claim at the end of this article.  

Exemptions for Utah Overtime Law

Minors under the age of 16 cannot receive overtime under UT overtime laws because they are not allowed to work more than 40 hours during even a nonschool week—except in certain cases.  Exemptions for adults under Utah overtime laws are mandated by the Fair Labor Standards Act in 29 USC §213.  Some of these exemptions under the FLSA and Utah overtime law are listed below: 

• if the employee is in a bona fide executive, administrative, or professional capacity

• an outside salesman

• any employee in amusement or recreational establishment, organized camp, religious or non-profit education conference center if the business does not operate more than 7 months a year

• any employee employed in catching, taking, propagating, harvesting, cultivating, or farming of any kind of fish, shellfish, crustacean, sponges, or other types of sea life

• any employee in agriculture if they did not work more than 500 man-days or works part of a family farm 

• any employee involved with weekly, semiweekly, or daily newspaper circulation (referenced in Utah overtime laws for minors)

• any switchboard operator

• domestic employees 

• criminal investigators

• some computer-related employees

Filing a Wage Claim for Violation of Utah Overtime Laws

If you believe your employer has violated a Utah overtime law and offered you unfair wages, you can file a wage claim by completing the forms under the provided link

You’ll have to send the form to P.O. Box 146630, Salt Lake City, UT 84114 according to UT overtime laws, and you call (801) 530-6801 if you have any questions about the form.  

Before filing a claim for violation of UT overtime laws, you should always try to settle the dispute with your employer before submitting such a form.  The Labor Commission of Utah encourages an outside settlement for violation of UT overtime laws, but the Commission also states that filing a claim for violation of Utah overtime laws cannot subject an employee to discriminatory or retaliatory action from the employer.  

If an employer violates Utah overtime law and then takes retaliatory action, they can face serious consequences and penalties from the state.  

 

Comments

comments

Share

Related Articles


Popular Posts

No posts where found

Read previous post:
Oklahoma Overtime Laws

Close