Utah Labor Law on Breaks
Utah Labor Laws: Breaks
Utah labor laws on breaks are few in number and do not state that an employer needs to give breaks to a person 18 years or older. There are certain provisions for mothers that are breastfeeding under UT labor laws on breaks and federal law, and there are federal laws for labor unions and those practicing in certain occupations. Some UT labor laws on breaks are discussed in this article. You can also find more information about UT labor laws on breaks on laws™.com
Specific Utah Labor Laws: Breaks for Breastfeeding Mothers
There is no specific Utah labor law on breaks for breastfeeding mothers, but federal law allow mothers to take a break in order to express breast milk. These breaks usually have to correspond with other breaks provided to employees according to Utah labor law on breaks under federal law, and the employer must provide a clean and private place for the mother besides a bathroom.
Apart from Utah labor law on breaks, §17-15-25 and §76-10-1229.5 of the state’s statutes gives specific rights to a mother. These statutes gives mothers a right in UT labor laws for breaks:
“The county legislative body may not prohibit a woman’s breast feeding in any location where she otherwise may rightfully be, irrespective of whether the breast is uncovered during or incidental to the breast feeding.”
§76-10-1229.5 basically provides the same provisions as the code listed above, and these rights give women rights within Utah labor law for breaks. The law states a mother has a right to breastfeed in any location she has a right to be, so this law directly impacts Utah labor law on breaks unless the breastfeeding directly obstructs the flow of productivity.
Child Labor and Utah Labor Laws on Breaks
Under federal law (which controls UT labor laws on breaks), a minor cannot work more than 5 hours without receiving a 30-minute, unpaid break. Additionally, §34-23-202 of the Utah labor laws on breaks under the legislature states that no child under the age of 16 can work before 5 a.m. or after 9:30 p.m. except if the next day is not a school day. Additionally, this Utah labor law on breaks states a minor under 16 cannot work more than 8 hours in a 24-hour time period, or more than 40 hours a week.
§34-23-202 of the UT labor laws on breaks does not apply in some cases. According to §34-23-208 of the Utah labor laws on breaks, §34-23-202 does not apply if the occupation is nonhazardous and the minor has received a high school diploma, a school release certificate, is legally married, or is head of the household.
According to §34-23-205 of the UT labor laws on breaks, children between the ages of 12 and 14 do not have to receive breaks because they are not allowed to work in any occupation or trade except as provided below:
• sale and delivery of periodicals
• door-to-door sale and delivery
• non-hazardous agricultural work
The occupations listed above do not qualify for Utah labor law on breaks because the occupations will likely not exceed more than 5 hours at a time. The same conditions apply in §34-23-206 of the Utah labor laws on breaks. Under this section of UT labor laws on breaks, a person 10 years or older can work in the following trades:
• delivery of newspapers
• gardening and lawn care with no power-driven equipment
There may be other occupations for minors that do not apply under Utah labor law on breaks. For more information on Utah labor laws on breaks in connection with federal law, visit the U.S. Department of Labor: https://www.dol.gov/