Wisconsin Labor Laws Breaks
What Are the Wisconsin Labor Laws for Breaks?
Thankfully, when it comes to Wisconsin labor laws for breaks, there’s a resource available everyone should take advantage of to stay well-informed: The Wisconsin Labor Standards Bureau. Everything you need to know about WI labor laws for breaks would be there.
And why is it important to know these Wisconsin labor laws for breaks? WI labor laws for breaks involve the job economy. WI labor laws for breaks involve your rights as a worker in the United States, specifically if working in the state of Wisconsin.
So here’s a list of some of the issues you need to keep in mind in regards to WI labor laws for breaks and other rules:
Everything You Need to Know About Wisconsin Labor Laws for Breaks and Other Rules
1. The Wisconsin Labor Law for Breaks and Meals
2. Business (Plant) Closing and Mass Layoff Law
3. Law of Cessation of Health Care Benefits
4. Child Labor
5. Deductions From Wages for Faulty Workmanship
6. Direct Deposit of Wages
7. Labor Standards Retaliation
8. Loss, Theft or Damage
9. Home Care Workers
10. Hours of Work and Overtime
11. Medical Exam
12. Minimum Wage
13. One Day Rest in Seven
14. Permanent Records to be Kept by the Employer
15. Personnel Records Open to Employees
16. Prevailing Wage Rate
17. Private Employment Agents
Just to elaborate on a couple of these, the Mass Layoff law involves the 60-day notice employers with more than 50 workers must provide before any layoff to ensure every worker a chance to find suitable employment or any other source of income.
The same goes for the Cessation of Health Care Benefits law, stating that an employer with 50 or more workers must provide the same notice in the event that health care benefits provided by the company will cease.
Other Resources the WLSB Provides Other Than the Wisconsin Labor Law for Breaks
It’s important to stay current with Wisconsin labor laws for breaks, so this site even provides up-to-date information –
1. Prevailing Wage Law Changes – July 1, 2011
2. Child Labor Hours Limits Changes – July 1, 2011
As far as the Wisconsin labor law for breaks go, it’s important to know of changes, particularly when it involves minimum wage.
To elaborate more, the specific modification of child labor hours now states that minors of 16 years of age or older can’t work hours during school but will no longer limit daily or weekly hours or even the time of day minors may work. Provides a bit of flexibility under the WI labor laws for breaks. Under current Wisconsin labor law for breaks, minors are even allowed meal and rest times – a 30-minute meal break every 6 hours.
In addition, minors of 16 years of age cannot work more than three hours a day during the week and no more than eight hours a day on non-school days.
The Wisconsin labor law for breaks states that the period of days between Labor Day and May 31 are now limited to only 18 hours per week with hours between 7 AM and 7 PM. Once June 1 hits, from that day on leading to the next Labor Day, minors can work only up to 40 hours a week between the hours of 7 AM and 9 PM.
Know the Law
It’s important in any state, not just Wisconsin. So stay well-informed. Keep checking. You never know what you might be missing.