Kansas Workers Compensation
Valuable Information on Kansas Workers’ Compensation Insurance
Kansas Workers’ Compensation Laws
The majority of Mississippi workers’ compensation laws are located in Chapter 44 and §5 of the state’s revised statutes. The laws can be found under the state’s legislature, and you can search for specific laws.
The majority of information in this article will regard Kansas workers’ compensation laws as well as valuable information referenced from the Kansas Department of Labor located at the following link.
Who is Covered under Workers’ Compensation Insurance in Kansas?
The majority of employees are covered under state’s WC laws, but like other states, there are a number of exceptions. These exceptions under Kansas workers’ compensation laws are listed below:
• certain agricultural workers and pursuits
• employers with gross annual payrolls of $20,000 or less
• firefighters belonging to a relief association program
• federal and maritime employees who are covered through federal compensation laws
• certain independent contractors
• sole proprietors and partners
• certain owner-operator vehicle drivers covered by their own occupational accident insurance
Other employers may elect in or out of coverage from workers’ compensation insurance in Kansas in certain cases. The exceptions within Kansas workers’ compensation laws are listed below:
• corporate employees owning 10 percent or more of stock
• employers seeking coverage for volunteers and other non-covered workers
• volunteer directors, officers, or trustees of nonprofit organizations
Claiming Workers’ Compensation Insurance in Kansas after Accident
If a worker is covered under Kansas workers’ compensation laws and is injured or receives an illness in the workplace, they need to notify the employer of the accident immediately.
The employer will then contact the carrier of the workers’ compensation insurance in Kansas within 28 days of the reported accident. The employer will also fill out numerous forms (including Form K WC-27 or K WC-270) according to Kansas workers’ compensation laws.
If you are an employee, you can file for a claim for workers’ compensation insurance in Kansas from the KS Department of Labor:
What Benefits are available in Workers’ Compensation Insurance: Kansas
An injured worker is entitled to two different kinds of benefits under workers’ compensation insurance in Kansas: medical benefits and wage loss benefits. These types of benefits are explained below:
1. Medical Benefits- the worker is fully covered for ALL medical expenses related to the work injury under Kansas workers’ compensation laws. These benefits are not limited to the compensation for services listed below:
• doctor and hospital services
• nursing services
• physical therapy
• medical equipment
• travel mileage to and from medical facilities
2. Wage Benefits- According to Kansas workers’ compensation laws, a worker is entitled up to two-thirds of their weekly wages for the amount of time they are covered. If a doctor determines the worker has a permanent disability that will impede their level of work in the future, permanent disability will compensate for the difference in wages.