Michigan Overtime Laws
Quick Guide to Michigan Overtime Laws
Specific Michigan Overtime Laws
As defined by Michigan statute 408.384(a) Compensation for overtime; exemptions; unpaid minimum wages; appropriation, compensatory time in lieu of monetary overtime compensation, all regular overtime in the state of MI is “1-1/2 times the regular rate at which the employee is employed for employment in a workweek in excess of 40 hours.”
Section 2 of this Michigan overtime law provides specific overtime rules for public service employees as well. In respect to and fire protection employees and law enforcement employees, Michigan overtimes laws apply to these duties in the following way:
“(a) In a work period of 28 consecutive days, the employee receives for tours of duty, which in the aggregate exceed 216 hours, compensation for those hours in excess of 216 at a rate not less than 1-1/2 times the regular rate at which the employee is employed. The employee’s regular rate shall be not less than the statutory minimum hourly rate.”
There are numerous other parts to this Michigan overtime law, and this article will cover the majority of popular topics within this law. You will also find information about filing an overtime wage claim at the end of this article. In order to make such a claim, your job cannot be exempt from Michigan overtime laws, and you
What is the Minimum Overtime Wage in MI?
Under Michigan overtime time and minimum wage laws in the state, the minimum overtime wage in MI is currently $11.10 per hour.
Certain workers automatically qualify under Michigan overtimes laws and the Fair Labor Standards Act, but some employees are also exempt from such law. Those who automatically qualify under Michigan overtime law are listed below:
• all manual labor
• all first –responders
• certain nurses and paralegals
Some nurses and paralegals won’t qualify for overtime, and even those employees who still qualify may not receive overtime pay in certain cases like catastrophic events and disasters.
Those who are automatically exempt from overtime pay under Michigan overtime laws are listed below:
• Executives, administrators, and other professionals who earn at least $455 per week under Section 13(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act
• Independent contractors
• transportation workers
• certain agricultural and farm workers
• live-in employees
• some computer-related workers
If you are unsure whether you qualify for overtime under Michigan overtime laws, you should regard Section 4 of the following statute.
Michigan Overtime Law for Filing Claims
If you believe you are entitled to overtime wages under Michigan overtime law, you should contact the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs under the state of Michigan immediately. You can fill out an electronic form on the internet if you believe Michigan overtime laws have been violated.
If you are contacting department about unpaid wages or fringe benefits, the form must be completed within 12 months of the violation. If you have not been paid minimum wages or overtime, you can file a complaint up to 3 years after the violation. The form can be found at the following link.